Though I’ve Never Seen

20 Jun

by Sharon Tewksbury

I’ve never seen snowflakes or sleet,

I’ve never seen a baby sleep,

I’ve never seen a sky of blue,

Or saw a rose kissed by the dew.

But I’ve heard the robin’s song so gay,

I’ve heard a baby laugh at play,

I’ve touched a rose I’ve smelled the dew,

I’ve touched soft grass, smelled spring rain too.

I’ve never seen the clouds of white,

Nor saw the moon or starry light,

But I’ve sat in autumn’s sacred night,

And heard the geese in chevron flight.

I’ve never seen an eagle soar,

But I’ve stood and heard the ocean’s roar,

I’ve felt its trade winds on my face,

Tasted its salt, and felt its sprays.

I’ve never seen a morning dawn,

Or the colors of a sunset gone,

But I’ve felt the sun, heard dawn birds sing,

Heard evening crickets in early spring,

My friends, I’ve lived just like a queen,

Even though I have never seen.

 

Sharon Tewksbury, was born blind in the early fifties. She had cataracts before birth, was born prematurely and was in an incubator for eight weeks. Oxygen and bright lights made what vision she had leave at an expedient rate. This poem was written to share that although some sighted folks might think the blind have missed out, nothing could be further from the truth.

3 Responses to “Though I’ve Never Seen”

  1. Pam Berman June 20, 2016 at 11:11 AM #

    Beautiful! I love this!

    Thank You,

    Pam

  2. Dolores Jules June 20, 2016 at 3:38 PM #

    beautiful poem, very touching & with much insight thanks

  3. Andrea June 20, 2016 at 6:06 PM #

    Lovely!

Leave a Reply

