Women’s History Month

17 Mar

by Stella De Genova

Since March is Women’s History Month, we must take a moment to think about and recognize important blind women. Saying that, we will all think of Helen Keller: her strength and fortitude, her struggles as well as her accomplishments.  And of course, her contributions to the blind and deaf community.  But I would suggest that we also take some time to appreciate and sing the praises of blind women that we know of or know personally.  I know blind women who work, volunteer and organize.  I know blind women who take care of families and homes.  And I know blind women who write, paint and sculpt.  They are all courageous, strong and inspiring.  And these women are special, not just because they overcome obstacles.  To me they are special because they do what they do, not for recognition, but out of love for themselves, others and life.  You know who you are – I appreciate you and all you’ve done.  Happy Women’s Month!

3 Responses to “Women’s History Month”

  1. stelladegenova March 18, 2016 at 5:24 AM #

    I admire you! Independant, successful, loving, intelligent, compassionate, resilient, oh, and you just happen to have a vision impairment.

  2. Pam Berman March 18, 2016 at 7:31 AM #

    Oh how sweet Stella…and I totally appreciate you my friend! You’re the best Stella!!!

    Hugs,

    Pam

  3. visionthroughwords March 18, 2016 at 8:45 AM #

    You are definitely one of the women on my list!

Leave a Reply

