The Darkness Encroaches

7 Dec

by T. Easton

Shadows cloud my vision and the darkness encroaches

Unceasing it draws closer robbing me of my hope and dreams

They say fear not for fear has no place in this arena

But do I dare not be afraid faced with such a circumstance?

Do I dare not be dismayed by what my future is to bring?

 

So I stand and pretend to boldly accept my fate

And walk with my hands out in front of my face

I’ve known sorrow before and will undoubtedly again

Yet why do I feel like I’m alone in this fight?

As I struggle to cling to every glimmer of light

 

And still darkness encroaches with disregard for my plans

Rendored helpless as I trip, stumble, fall, and then stand

My head has the evidence of the darkness with which I contend

My shins remind me of the harsh circumstance that I am in

 

So I reach for protection from this indelible cause

And again it evades me as if a whisper in the wind

Lest you should judge me for my trepidation to go

Just remember the truth is that no one truly comprehends

Unless he forges through the darkness in an effort to fight

And weary he reaches the wall of hope and relief

Flipping the switch to find that there is no light.

 

Toby T. Easton was born and raised in Detroit, MI where he lived in a government subsidized housing project. After completing graduate school, he relocated to Raleigh, NC where he currently resides. Toby is a freelance writer and poet. He also works in the mental healthcare field as a licensed therapist. Toby decided to become a therapist in order to satiate his desire to help others discover a means by which they can transform tragic life circumstances into moments of beauty. Toby’s poetry often reflects his experiences with drug and alcohol addiction, physical abuse, and neglect; as well as a long and arduous struggle to rebuild his life after going blind from RP.

One Response to “The Darkness Encroaches”

  1. smilejones December 8, 2015 at 10:48 AM #

    Good poem. I like the line that says, Flipping the switch to find that there is no light

Leave a Reply

