Your Light

20 Oct

by Stella De Genova

It was a night that went on for years

Skin cold and body hungry,

The blood in my heart

Drained down into my feet.

Lost on the side of the road

Trying to find the path

Defeated, I stopped looking

The chilled air snuffed out the last ember

Numbness became my comforter.

 

And then, out of nowhere

Or was it somewhere

You were walking toward me

Lantern in hand, growing brighter,

Your joyful eyes, soft as candlelight

Wakened my tired soul

Gone is the cold, endless night

In the caress of your sunlight

I taste the sweetness of morning

4 Responses to “Your Light”

  1. Pam Berman October 20, 2015 at 8:21 PM #

    Very nice Stella! So nice to hear a happy ending when life can really be so tough. Thank you!

  2. Al DeGenova October 20, 2015 at 9:24 PM #

    Nice, very nice!

  3. Stella DeGenova October 20, 2015 at 10:04 PM #

    That was beautiful. I’m assuming that was about John. What a great tribute!

  4. Andrea October 21, 2015 at 4:04 AM #

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

