Tomorrow

2 Sep

by Dave Steele

Tomorrow I will promise no longer be held back

Tomorrow won’t feel incomplete

for one sense that I lack

Tomorrow I won’t stay indoors

no longer be a recluse

Tomorrow they will value me

no longer be of no use

Tomorrow I will not be scared

to walk alone in crowds

Tomorrow I’ll be more prepared

feel confident and proud

Tomorrow they will look at me

and see the man inside

Tomorrow I’ll feel valued

will be seen as more than blind

Tomorrow I will see the world

although through blur and haze

Tomorrow I won’t feel upset

There’ll be no bad eye days

Tomorrow I won’t feel alone

when strangers won’t believe

Tomorrow I will not be hurt

by those that choose to leave

Tomorrow I will step outside

and proudly use my cane

Tomorrow I’ll ignore the stares

no longer feel ashamed

Tomorrow all my fears away

if your strength I can borrow

So maybe it should be today instead of just tomorrow.

Dave Steele is from Manchester UK and is legally blind due to retinitis pigmentosa (RP). Since losing his sight, he has begun writing poetry as a way to bring awareness to others and to help other visually impaired people cope with their fears. He is working on having a book of his poems published.  You can read more of his  poetry on Dave Steele’s Facebook page.

5 Responses to “Tomorrow”

  1. Hannah Wills September 2, 2015 at 4:18 PM #

    Don’t we all wait for that day when people see us as normal people and not a person who uses a cane to get around.

  2. Vicki Cox September 3, 2015 at 7:04 AM #

    Love Dave’s poems from the heart!

  3. Jock burnett September 3, 2015 at 7:32 AM #

    Great words as always from a great poet.

  4. Mary September 3, 2015 at 10:50 AM #

    Another lovely poem

  5. Robyn September 3, 2015 at 3:53 PM #

    Love reading you work…..

Leave a Reply

