Contrast

9 Jul

by Deon Lyons

Each day I slowly walk past the easel.

Each day, I swipe at it with my paint brush.

Each day, I add one more stroke to the emerging canvas.

The mood of the day fills the brush with original color.

The journey of the day guides my hand towards the painting.

The experience of the day carefully pinpoints the stroke.

How many paintings have I seen?

How many canvases have I colored?

How many stories have I told?

The contrast is my opinion.

The emotions are the palette.

The sequence is my life.

The painting is me.

Deon Lyons lives with his wife in their home of 30 years in Maine, U.S. Here’s his story:

I was born in 1960 with bi-lateral retinal cancer and lost my left eye at five months old. With the help of some of the earliest radiation processes here in the United States, I was able to beat cancer and had good vision in my right eye until 2010, when I succumbed to a series of strokes, where the blood flow was cut off to the right retina, leaving me blind.

A lot has happened to me since then. My life has seen changes that I have had to work through and learn to live with. I am very fortunate to have had vision for fifty years, and am blessed to still be roaming this big blue marble we call home.

I have many interests, such as music, movies, gardening, DIY, sports, love of family and digital technology, specifically, assistive technology.

I’m happy to find my pillow each night, and feel very fortunate to have so many blessings in my life.

Losing my vision has reintroduced me to one of my favorite passions, writing. These past five years have shown me that one of the reasons I lost my sight was so that I could learn how to see, and many, many times, I have gained visions through the words that I type on the screen. Within each obstacle that we encounter, there always lies an opportunity. With hard work and inspirational cues, the possibilities are endless.

2 Responses to “Contrast”

  1. Ross Rogoff July 14, 2015 at 3:28 PM #

    . But you’ve learned to live with it.It sounded you have a difficult time with your vision

    • DP Lyons July 15, 2015 at 11:12 AM #

      Hi Ross. Yes, I have had a difficult time with my vision, but we all have things that we have difficulty with. Some days I have difficulty finding my slippers, but the day goes on none the less. Thanks for your note and I hope this finds you well. Deon

Leave a Reply

