On My Patio

8 Jan

by Aaron Carroll

Since losing my vision the simplest things bring me satisfaction. I can enjoy the fruits of my labor by being able to listen to the squirrels run and play by jumping on wires or climbing nearby trees. I can smell the different scents from the pleasant scent of laundry drying, releasing the fresh smell of different fabric softeners. I look forward to feeling the different weather conditions, whether it is sunny, rainy, or windy. I look forward to hearing the street cleaners because this brings back memories when I could see.

These things I do from sitting on my patio.

Aaron Carroll is coming to terms with his vision loss and finds some solace in his writing.  He also helps other blind people discover self-confidence and independence as a technology volunteer at Second Sense blind service organization.

3 Responses to “On My Patio”

  1. adrijana prokopenko January 8, 2015 at 10:12 AM #

    A very touching post, glad you can take the most out of blindness. I am a blind lady and a teacher of English from macedonia and if you wish to communicate with me or join my magazine for blind penpals, my email is: adrijana.prokopenko@gmail.com Feel free to also spread the word.

  2. adrijana prokopenko January 8, 2015 at 10:24 AM #

    Was also looking for a contactrt info of Second sense, but unfortunately, they only let you write if you have outlook express.

Leave a Reply

