The Cat Who Loved Carols

20 Dec

by Nancy Scott

When Lana moved in two years ago she didn’t know she would become part of our apartment-life legend.  My first real conversation with her concerned our lobby’s lack of Halloween reminders.  “I love decorating,” Lana explained.  “Of course my favorite holiday is Christmas.”

Black Friday jingled and glistened.  I was outside to meet a sale-loving friend.  I suddenly heard, very clearly, Perry Como and Nat King Cole singing carols from above.  I knew Lana lived somewhere up there.

“Lana must be decorating,” I thought.  “She really must love carols, but she’s going to annoy lots of people.”  I didn’t know her apartment number.  I couldn’t warn her about non-Christmas celebrators or afternoon nappers or people who work nights.

By the time I returned home, the building was silent.  I wondered what I’d missed, envisioning not-heavenly door-banging and yelling.

The next night Lana sheepishly told several of us what actually happened.  “I left the TV Christmas channel on and ran out to get that tape that doesn’t hurt walls.  I came back and wondered who was playing music so loud.  And it was in my apartment!  My cat Princess was lying on the TV remote.  She must have stepped on the volume button.  I swear.”

Two other neighbors said they’d heard the carols and wondered about them.  We all laughed and teased Lana about blaming the poor cat.  And the story was told and retold.

Each Black Friday now, Lana assures us, “I’ve turned on the carols, but I collected all the remotes first.”  It makes some of us smile.  And for the rest, the story is still told and retold.

Nancy Scott, Easton, PA, is a blind essayist and poet.  Her over 600 bylines have appeared in magazines, literary journals, anthologies and newspapers, and as audio commentaries. An essayist and poet, she has published three chapbooks. She won First Prize in the 2009 International Onkyo Braille Essay Contest. Recent work appears in Breath and Shadow, Contemporary Haibun Online, and Stone Voices.

Leave a Reply

