Vacation

8 Aug

by Stella De Genova

I just got back from a beautiful vacation in Italy, homeland of my grandparents and ancestors.  Even through my blurred vision, the scenery was postcard-perfect.  I enjoyed the loved ones I traveled with, the family we visited, the places we went and the sites we saw.  There is nothing I would change about our trip, not even the achy feet at the end of the day from walking on centuries-old cobblestone streets.

We ate authentic Neopolitan cuisine and, of course, pizza.  We walked up Mt. Vesuvio and sunbathed on the Amalfi coast and on the Isle of Capri.  On the last leg of our trip, we stayed in Rome with a view of the Pantheon right outside our apartment window.  We walked the streets and immersed ourselves into the history of cathedrals, classic art, Borghese Gardens, the Coliseum and Palatino.

As much as I loved our trip, I’m happy to be back to the comforts and familiarity of home.  There was a time when I would get very blue after a trip.  Back to the routine and a job that stressed me was a letdown after being away from it all.  If only I could stay on vacation forever.

When I stopped working and went on SS disability, people pitied me because I was losing even more vision and couldn’t do what I had done for so many years – support my own family.  Hell, I pitied myself.  But as time went on, I’ve found that although my vision may limit some physical tasks, it doesn’t limit the quality of my life unless I let it.  I know it sounds weird that losing vision and a job turned out to be a positive thing but I’ve learned to be happy with myself and that was my catalyst.  So now, vacation or home, life is good.  La vita è buona!

3 Responses to “Vacation”

  1. audreydemmitt August 8, 2014 at 11:41 AM #

    A lovely post! I can so relate to what it is like to finally “let go” of the life you thought was the only one for you and allow a different life to take shape in the face of vision loss and forced retirement…All my fears and concerns were unwarranted! there is life after giving up a job, your driver’s license, and losing your vision…and it is Good!

  2. Al DeGenova August 8, 2014 at 12:44 PM #

    Amen!

  3. Walter Dydo August 11, 2014 at 11:11 AM #

    I enjoyed your describing your trip and also your confidence in the changes that you have gone through over time.  I am so proud of all that you do.  You are an amazing person and I love you.

    Mom

Leave a Reply

