I Walk Alone

3 Jul

by Fred Nikkl, Sr.

Moving from one dark place to an even darker place

always avoiding the light, I walk alone.

Shadowless, I walk in a shroud of dark,

stealthily creeping up over years to bestow my gift.

For some I hide in their very cells

finally coming out to surprise and terrorize.

There are times I wait outside and come

due to accident or a careless moment.

My best I save for the elderly-

who are looking forward to their golden years.

They will cry out in pain,

curse me and even pray to their gods for deliverance.

I care not for their cries and pleas.

I am relentless in my pursuit of their pain and suffering.

I am the curse of blindness.

 

Fred Nikkl, Sr. lost his sight 50 years ago but has never let that stop him from being a dad, grandfather, friend, advocate for the blind and all-round nice guy.  Blindness has also never stopped his love for adventure and his passion for writing.

Leave a Reply

