Unknown

22 Apr

by Valerie Moreno

I am alone
does anybody care–
you, with babblings of
social obligations
or rushed participations in endeavors
to promote enlightenment?
 
You scurry away,
saying hello, but
too busy to ask me
how I am, who I might be.
 
You talk of love
that can move mountains,
yet you turn from me as
if I am invisible,
insignificant…
 
I am the elderly woman on a bench,
the stranger across the aisle at services,
the over-heated worker fixing a pot hole,
the child passed over when teams are chosen,
I could be you if circumstances change.
 
There are many of us,
not seeking condescending pity,
false emotion guised in abstract attitude,
something offered to save my needy soul.
 
I want what you take for granted–
acceptance, respect,
the light of valid love that
takes me as myself,
dignity intact,
ok
 

Valerie Moreno is 57 years old.  She had partial vision until 1999 when it disappeared literally overnight.  Valerie’s eye disease is ROP (Retinopathy of Prematurity).  She is recently widowed, has a blind cat who she adores and loves to write.  She doesn’t have a computer, so she uses a phone voice-internet service called Net-By-Phone, which sends and receives email and browses the web.  Text emails and webpages are read in robotic speech and all texting is done via phone keypad.

2 Responses to “Unknown”

  1. audreydemmitt April 22, 2014 at 11:28 AM #

    I really enjoyed this poem…provocative and moving…well done!

  2. Fred April 23, 2014 at 8:59 AM #

    I don’t think I understood the poem, but I liked it.

Leave a Reply

