Inspiration

7 Feb

by Suzie Corbett

I’ve enjoyed reading since I learned how to.  Always read off of the page until my vision loss eight years ago left me without much.  However, I’ve been very fortunate to have the pleasure of listening to recorded books.  I’m fascinated by writers and the inspiring work that they do.  It seems to me that writers are very interesting and imaginative and I admire how they make it seem so easy to be descriptive.  I’d guess that most are brilliant.  Writers and books inspire me, especially the books about health, wellness and bettering one’s self.

Do I have the ability to do what they do?  I’m quite sure that I don’t possess the brilliance factor.  I enjoy humor in life and in writing.  Can I conjure up humor off of the page?  Written words are different than conversational humor.  I’ve thought about exploring my psyche through writing.  I haven’t gotten around to that yet.  Hum, what’s holding me back from this?  Am I avoiding my inner thoughts and feelings?  Yes, I believe I’m guilty of distracting myself.  Like Scarlett O’Hara said, “ I’ll think about this tomorrow.”  My inner awareness is easily distracted with busying myself by daily tasks and reading for enjoyment.  Yep, that’s me.  Hey, this habit has been with me a very long time.  However, habits can be changed.  Should I take a break from listening to my books?  Oh, but why give up the enjoyment that takes me to another place?  Why the fascination for escape?  I come from parents who are practical, realist people.  They read articles in the paper and never read novels.  I guess they didn’t possess the escape factor.  I like to think that I inspire others with my kindness and positivity.  I hope this is so.  Can I inspire myself and others through my writing? 

I believe it takes inspiration to write.  It takes confidence as well.  I think it takes bravery to face what one has written, even if no one ever reads it but you.  The result may inspire you or others.  Write to inspire and inspire to write.

I’ll be working on this.

Suzie Corbett lost her vision through a car accident but refuses to let that stop her from moving forward in life.  Second Sense and its creative writing workshop find Suzie to be a positive addition to our supportive circle.

One Response to “Inspiration”

  1. Andrea February 12, 2014 at 4:42 AM #

    Suzie,
    I was thrilled to read your post. You voiced some of my thoughts and feelings as well. I think you’re on you way to becoming a writer who inspires. You sure brightened my day!

Leave a Reply

