Playing in the Snow

24 Jan

by Andrea Kelton

Snow.  Big snow.  A front yard full of snow.  Her snow.  Snow waiting for her to come out and play.

 Andrea wiggled as mommy pulled on the snow pants and tightened the straps.  Snow beckoned.  New snow.  Her snow.

 Andrea squirmed as mommy pushed on the boots and fastened the buckles.  Fresh snow.  Clean snow.  Her snow.

 Andrea fidgeted as mommy tied her knit cap, zipped her jacket, wrapped her scarf and tugged on her mittens.  Ready to play in her own snow.

 While four year old Andrea dressed for snow play, a boy trudged down the little hill that led to her yard.  Andrea’s Groton, Connecticut house nestled near that hill where her street came to a dead end.  The snowy expanse also enticed the boy to play.

 Finally, an Andrea shaped bundle waddled outdoors.  She froze in confusion.  Her fantasyland had disappeared.  Her pure, clean, fresh snow was gone.   Footprints smashed every inch of crusty topped snow!  A booted thief had stolen HER snow.  Andrea felt cold.  She turned and waddled back inside for hot cocoa. And a story.  One with a happy ending.    

 Andrea Kelton was diagnosed with uveitis in 1974.  She teaches Adult Basic Education at Literacy Chicago.  Andrea has attended a memoir writing class “Me, Myself and I” taught by author Beth Finke.

4 Responses to “Playing in the Snow”

  1. seaangel4444 January 25, 2014 at 11:05 AM #

    Wonderful, Andrea! What a joyful read! Thank you! Cher xo

  2. Alisa January 25, 2014 at 1:38 PM #

    Thank you for sharing. I enjoyed that especially since I believe Michigan has broken its record for January surpassing 29 inches in the month.

  3. Kathy Wiley January 25, 2014 at 3:53 PM #

    Funny I read this just as I came in from shoveling! I was amazed at all the different footprints in my back yard, none of them from people. Nice story, Andrea!

  4. Lorri Fishman August 6, 2014 at 11:37 AM #

    Andrea, this is Lorri Fishman — do you remember me? I have a wheel in my basement and still enjoy throwing pots. I’ve done some demos for kids at my boys’ school and I think of you all the time! Write me back if you can–I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

