The Stars and The Moon

10 Jan

(There are more great stories to come from the Words Wide Open writing workshop but let us take a short intermission for some of our favorite contributors!)

by Mani G. Iyer

The last I remember seeing the stars
they had turned around on their stellar routes,
in droves, to congregate above a farm
outside the haze and lights of Bombay;
the clear sky was littered with millions
an enchanted me, watching with glee
their twinkle and tinsel, their feet so nimble
dancing, then slipping behind a grey backdrop.
 
Little did I know it was the final act;
I yearned to see one badly, an aging star obliged
sneaking out of his troupe every night
cloudy or clear, for a tireless solo performance;
they told me, there was none and my eyes conjured one
despite introducing them to my nightly visitor;
maybe it was my father watching out for me
the sparkle, his dentures flashing a knowing smile.
 
The nebulous star has disappeared on me forever;
these days, I seek my comfort closer
mistaking to be her, each of the throng of lights,
street or otherwise, finally finding her
beyond a veil of silhouetted buildings and trees
after a kind soul points my hand towards
her reflective nature, her gentle demeanor;
when I lock eyes with her, I thank my lucky star.
 

Mani G. Iyer was born and raised in Bombay, India and has lived in the United States since 1985.  He is deaf-blind due to Usher Syndrome.  He became deaf by the age of 4, night-blind by the age of 12, and now has very little usable vision.  Writing has always been a passion for Mani and he has just completed a writing fellowship at the Vermont Studio Center.  He has also just started a writing group called “The Good Word.”

Leave a comment