A Bit of Legacy

19 Oct

by Nancy Scott

          “Whatever happens,” David said, “you can write about it.”

          “Write a legacy letter,” the instructor said. “A page of things you want to tell family and friends.”

          It took some thinking and some time, but here is my best advice taken from reading, journal entries, and the experience of “happy accidents.”

          The first two bits are from ministers’ sermons. “You do not need to be happy; you need to be blessed.” And “Go out into the sunshine.”

          Or how about “Never underestimate the history you may be creating.” I don’t know where I read this but everyone creates history every second by what we do or don’t do.

          Or “Just keep moving. Do the next right thing.” Or “Each day, I will do one more thing than I think I can do.”

          Large needs and wants drive our decisions. I want “good people, good health, and good writing” and I need “security, divinity, a way to make a difference, and to earn respect from some people.”

          And there’s advice that’s harder to take. “Troubles come so we learn to go to a place of surrender and not purpose.” “Be the unknown spice in the soup and not a main ingredient.” “Humility is not thinking less of yourself; it’s thinking of yourself less.” “Life is a journey, not a set of things or accomplishments.” “Things are temporary; love is not.”

          Things happen for a reason. I was meant to be in that class. And if I can’t write for fame or money, I’ll write for “change” like the women’s writing group in Ohio.

          Since I’ve finished this draft, I could have cookies or a walk in the sunshine. Walking is better because “the swift can never run with dignity.” I got that one from a fortune cookie. See? Cookies aren’t all bad.

 

Nancy Scott, Easton, PA, is a blind essayist and poet.  Her over 600 bylines have appeared in magazines, literary journals, anthologies and newspapers, and as audio commentaries. An essayist and poet, she has published three chapbooks. She won First Prize in the 2009 International Onkyo Braille Essay Contest. Recent work appears in Breath and Shadow, Contemporary Haibun Online, and Stone Voices.

Leave a Reply

