This RP Ride

22 Mar

by Nora Devane

I’ve sat back for so many years
Watching this ride
Seeing the ups
Hearing all the downs

Always avoiding my turn
Thinking I will never get on
My turn would never happen
Someone else was always in front

Yet here I am, first in line
On a ride I’d rather skip
The ups I miss
The Downs I am sinking in

Never did I think I would climb aboard
Feel this hurt,
Ride through this pain
Want so bad to get off

But here I am no return ticket
Just a heart full of fear
Head full of questions
And not knowing where to start

Nora K Devane was diagnosed with Retinitus Pigmentosa over 14 years ago.  She is a legally blind photographer who also finds her escape in writing poetry. She is married and lives in North Dakota.  Her writing helps her express how she feels about having RP. For her, writing is the best way to get out the words she sometimes cannot say in person. Nora’s photography is also a huge escape from the RP, because when she raises her camera to her eye, somehow she sees it “all” and she forgets she is blind.  You can see Nora’s photography at http://blind-eye-photography.webs.com .

2 Responses to “This RP Ride”

  1. Donna W. Hill March 22, 2013 at 1:01 PM #

    Nora, I was born with RP 63 years ago, and like you I enjoyed photography. I found that for a while, I could actually see photos of things and people better than the real thing. I’m not sure if this was a field loss issue or simply because I could stare at a picture as long as I liked. I no longer can even distinguish between black and white under our brightest light, so I have long since given up photography. I’m sorry that you are feeling so much hurt about having RP. Losing sight gradually is like that long goodbye they talk about with Altzheimers. I started feeling better in my 20s, when I decided not to try to see things. I had been straining to use a flawed tool and having predictable results. I learned nonvisual skills like using a guide dog and reading Braille. It freed me to use my remaining vision for enjoyment . The things that hurt me nowadays have to do with the unnecessary limitations society seems determined to place on people who access the world nonvisually. I still experience visual memories that are so intensely bright that they make me blink, and I satisfy my need for the beauty of the visual through reading and by writing.

  2. Marisa March 22, 2013 at 6:32 PM #

    Well said, Nora!

Leave a Reply

