Each Day

16 Feb

by Nora Devane

Slowly the room comes to focus
Yet still I cannot make out what I see
Moving eyes back and forth just to get the picture
Tell my brain to fill in what I miss

Each day that circle seems to shrink
Seems to hide more of my world from me
I try and try to find what I miss
Yet what can I do to fill in those blanks

Some days, I see it “all”
Most days, takes me a while
To focus, clear the fog
See what it is that was hiding yesterday

Each day I am happy that I still see your face
Even though it is etched on my heart
I worry that one day it will be gone
So each day, I see, I am blessed

Nora Devane was diagnosed with Retinitus Pigmentosa over 14 years ago. She is a legally blind photographer who also finds her escape in writing poetry. She is married and lives in North Dakota. Her writing helps her express how she feels about having RP. For her, writing is the best way to get out the words she sometimes cannot say in person. Nora’s photography is also a huge escape from the RP, because when she raises her camera to her eye, somehow she sees it “all” and she forgets she is blind.  You can read more about Nora and see her photography at http://blind-eye-photography.webs.com

4 Responses to “Each Day”

  1. Jeff Flodin February 16, 2013 at 10:42 AM #

    I enjoyed your Polan very much. To me, it is a very accurate description of what it is to look like through eyes with RP. I am dictating this comment into my iPhone, so accuracy may not be much to speak of, but the thought is there.

  2. anniejmac February 16, 2013 at 10:36 PM #

    Nora I am tweeeting you not just for your poetry but also for your photography. I aqm so very proud of what you have done & continue to do!! We are all warriors, Mum would be so proud.. I know she is smiling down on us. ❤ ❤ U 🙂

    • Lee Pupo February 19, 2013 at 5:23 PM #

      loved your poem and photos! Although I now have a guide dog, I did use a white cane and would take great pleasure in observing peoples surprised looks when I put the cane aside and took up a camera! why can we still see so well thru a camera ?

      • Nora Devane March 18, 2013 at 9:46 AM #

        Lee thank you so much, I agree re people looking at you strangely when you place cane aside and take photos, BUT I truly believe my camera is my eyes! I feel alive and I feel i see so much more through the lens. I have a friend who has Parkinson and when she puts her camera to her eyes.. her tremors stop. It is amazing what something we love so much to do can calm the soul and open us up to so much beauty 😀

Leave a Reply

