Blind

11 Jan

by James Langston Hughes

I am blind
I cannot see.
Color is no bar to me.
I know neither
Black nor white.
I walk in night.
Yet it seems I see mankind
More tortured than the blind.
Can it be that those who know
Sight are often doomed to woe?
Or is it that, seeing,
They never see
With the infinite eyes
Of one like me?

James Langston Hughes (1902-1967) was born in Missouri and was an activist, columnist, playwright, musician and poet.  Did he write about mankind’s blindness or was he actually blind?

Leave a Reply

