Mr. Santa

16 Dec

by Nancy Scott

(sung to the tune of “Mr. Sandman” by Pat Ballard)

(1)
 
Mr. Santa, bring me some dough!
I wanna travel–there’s places to go!
I wanna look nice and I wanna glisten–
I’ve been so very good, so you should listen!
 
Santa, I want some green.
Deficit spending is really obscene,
So please do more than HO-HO-HO–
Mr. Santa, bring me some dough!
 
(2)
 
Mr. Santa, bring me a Rolls.
I want a new car with fancy controls,
Digital tuning, and leather interior–
I wanna own the road and be superior!
 
Santa, I need to drive
The kind of car that says I’ve arrived
So don’t give me that sack of coals–
Mr. Santa, bring me a Rolls!
 
(3)
 
Mr. Santa, bring me a hunk,
Please make him willing–I don’t want a monk.
He must be funny and he should be clever,
And you can tell him I’ll be his forever.
 
Santa, it’s getting cold–
Pillows and flannels are no fun to hold.
I’ll buy a cozy king-size bunk–
Mr. Santa, bring me, please please please,
Mr. Santa, bring me a hunk.
 

Nancy Scott, Easton, PA, is a blind essayist and poet.  Her over-500 bylines have appeared in magazines, literary journals, anthologies and newspapers, and as audio commentaries.  Her third chapbook, co-authored with artist Maryann Riker, is entitled “The Nature of Beyond.

2 Responses to “Mr. Santa”

  1. Jeff Flodin December 17, 2012 at 8:40 AM #

    I laughed as I sang all the way. Thanks much

  2. carole j. heffley December 28, 2012 at 9:54 AM #

    Clever use of rhyme and parody . . . just what you can expect from Nancy Scott’s nimble mind and explosive talents!!

Leave a Reply

