Balance Beam

1 Dec

by Nancy Scott

I practice impatience, balance
it with my book on the porch rail
where I try to read Braille
with February coat sleeves,
thinking the sun must be the color
of the good poems I can only
write in April when the ice melts
and my hair curls with things to do.
I dare to wear no gloves,
read one-handed; too slow
to lure robins.

 

Nancy Scott, Easton, PA, is a blind essayist and poet.  Her over-500 bylines have appeared in magazines, literary journals, anthologies and newspapers, and as audio commentaries.  Her third chapbook, co-authored with artist Maryann Riker, is entitled “The Nature of Beyond.

2 Responses to “Balance Beam”

  1. Tracey Westphal December 5, 2012 at 4:26 PM #

    Loved this poem, especially the last line. Thanks.

  2. Modwyn December 8, 2012 at 8:31 PM #

    I really like this, Nancy!

Leave a comment