Oral Hull Adventure Camp

23 Aug

by Stella De Genova

Last week, I was a guest at Oral Hull Adventure Camp in Portland, Oregon.  It is an adventure trip for visually impaired and blind people who want to step out of their safety zone in a safe environment.

I will admit that I was unsure of my decision to go to Oral Hull, even to the time I arrived and was shown to my room.  The boarding was not the Ritz but it was sufficient and clean.  “Will I be comfortable here?  How will the people be?”  I put on my bravest smile and headed to the lodge dining room where most of our meals would be served.  How lovely!  The chefs were a husband and wife team and every meal was delicious.  The good-hearted staff and volunteer guides were attentive to our needs as well as our independence.  There were a couple of people I already knew from my hometown there and that was comforting.  As the days passed, I met very interesting people and made some new friends.

We woke early every morning, had breakfast together and prepared for our adventure of the day.  There were activities as relaxing as walks through the beautiful sensory garden, a hike along Salmon River and a visit to the Seaside, a town along the Pacific Ocean.  For the braver at heart, there was whitewater rafting, hiking up to the top of a 600 ft. high waterfall, jet-boating, bunji jumping and skydiving!

In the evenings we all gathered again for dinner and socialized as long as we could keep our eyes open.

What Oral Hull really is is a confidence-building experience that gives the opportunity to challenge yourself, have fun and be proud of your accomplishments.  I recommend that any self-sufficient visually impaired person looking for a chance to do something new and exciting check out the camp.  You may be a one-time visitor or a new regular camper, whichever you choose, I guarantee that you will never forget your trip to Oral Hull Adventure Camp!

3 Responses to “Oral Hull Adventure Camp”

  1. Micky Holdsworth August 23, 2012 at 10:35 PM #

    Thanks Stella for the detailed description of camp life, you made it sound enticing. I’m glad you had a good time.

    Micky H

  2. Vanessa Morris - Regional Librarian August 24, 2012 at 9:10 AM #

    Reblogged this on Visual Impairment Info.

  3. Sherry August 24, 2012 at 11:17 AM #

    I was a staff volunteer at Oral Hull this year. I was amazed at the camp. It was great to see so many visually impaired people connecting to one another and sharing experiences. The smiles on some of the people brought tears to my eyes. If you think you are interested you should really try it out. It will be a truly memorable experience for you!

Leave a Reply

