Make Something – Make a Difference

22 May

by Stella De Genova

What do you like to do?  What do you like to make?  Where does your creativity lie?  For me, I like to paint; I like to garden; I like to cook.  It makes me feel good to do something where the end result brings contentment and a sense of accomplishment to me and to others.  I even started this blog as another creative outlet for visually impaired people to find a place to share what they write. 

As I was out in the sunny yard today, planting some vegetable plants, I realized that it doesn’t matter what it is as long as a person can find something or some way to be creative, they will find joy and some inner peace.

I can say that I’m not always pleased with a painting I’ve done and next time I make a recipe, I may add or delete to what I’ve tried.  Sometimes my garden doesn’t harvest the most robust vegetables but I don’t care.  It won’t stop me from trying again next time, plus I look for new things to paint, cook or plant.  Yes, I’m visually impaired and yes, sometimes I make a mess but I will continue to create because it feels so good.  I guess what I’m trying to say is that finding out what you like to create will make a difference in your life too.  So make some cookies, or sculpt something out of clay or write some haiku: it will make a difference in your life.

Leave a Reply

