Geography Lesson

23 Jan

by Nancy Scott

For months, it tempted me
from the top of the piano
with its raised-ridge edges,
equator and hand-hold continents
spaced by smooth, plastic water.
Without longitude and latitude lines,
without poles I could touch,
I knew it must be
a basketball in disguise.
 
When the teacher left
the room one Wednesday,
I hefted the world without hesitation
and let it drop from my hands.
It just lay there.
 
Behind the piano, I held the globe
higher at my chest for seconds;
threw it to the floor to make sure.
It tried to rise a few inches
but subsided to Earth.
 
I checked for change,
one hand on each hemisphere,
then tempted a third toss
against the return of grown-up gravity,
but the world simply wouldn’t bounce.

 

Nancy Scott, Easton, PA, is an essayist and poet. She is blind.  Her over-500 bylines have appeared in magazines, literary journals, anthologies and newspapers, and as audio commentaries.  Her third chapbook, co-authored with artist Maryann Riker, is entitled “The Nature of Beyond.”

Leave a Reply

