The Can Can Sale

27 Sep

by Nancy Scott

Without Braille’s tact,
I can’t tell corn from carrots
from peas from peaches if they’re canned.
Fruit might be in big, fat
cans, but it’s just unidentified fruit.
I would know mushrooms, stems and pieces,
but not if I also bought mandarin oranges.
Soups all look the same–
the smaller cans needing
water, or is it milk?

 

Once or twice a year,
we go to the Can-Can
sale. You can
read the flyer, I can
make the list. You can
read signs and labels, I can
help push the filling carts, you can
bag and organize, I can pay.

 

You can lift and stack, I can too
but slowly, you can
put more than 100 cans
in their right rows, I can
put magnetic Braille labels
in front of those rows.
You can see
if we’ve missed anything.
I can now tell corn from carrots
from peas from peaches.
I can. 
 
Nancy Scott, Easton, PA, is an essayist and poet.  Her over-500 bylines have appeared in magazines, literary journals, anthologies and newspapers, and as audio commentaries.  Her third chapbook, co-authored  with artist Maryann Riker, is entitled “The Nature of Beyond.”
Leave a Reply

