Animal Bliss

13 Sep

by Mani G. Iyer

When it begins to get
uncomfortably cold,
she digs into the bed
with untamed fingernails,
her small lithe body
backing her efforts.
I sense the tremors,
instinctively lift my comforter,
to invite her
into my cozy cranny.
She eagerly slips
into the incomplete isosceles
of my legs, making sure,
she can touch me.
I gingerly turn on my side,
assuring her of my good intentions,
place a foot on her soft belly,
not as a stamp of indignity
towards creatures lowly,
but to selfishly draw the warm waves
of the buried-in-her-genes
friendship and loyalty,
which she happily shares
and soon enough,
we begin snoring.
 

Mani G. Iyer was born and raised in Bombay, India and has lived in the United States since 1985.  He is deaf-blind due to Usher Syndrome.  He became deaf by the age of 4, night-blind by the age of 12, and now has very little usable vision.

One Response to “Animal Bliss”

  1. visionthroughwords September 17, 2011 at 2:56 PM #

    Many thanks for such a heartfelt reminder of the love and the bond between us and our animal friends. I like how your poem is written – what it says and what it does not say. I like that I do not know what your friend’s name is and whether your friend is a dog, cat, ferret or small bear. Thanks again for your current and past writing and I look forward to more in the future.

    Jeff Flodin

Leave a Reply

