A sparkling night

2 Jul

As I was sitting on my front porch, having a glass of wine with my husband tonight, I saw a beautiful phenominum.  You see, I have retinitis pigmentosa and what’s left of my vision is pretty much what I can see close up and in good lighiting.  For me, I’ve never seen anything in darkness except what looks to me like random floating lights – when there is a light to be found.  Well, back to my phenominum, we were sitting outside and the sun set and darkness fell upon us, and complete darness around me.  As I was staring out into the black abyss, my husband shared his joy at how many firedlies were out and about.  He asked me to try looking toward the grass and just wait to see what I could see.  (Now, I should add that people have tried this with me to see the stars but to no avail.)  I set my gaze toward the lawn and suddenly, and to my joy and amazement, I captured sparks of light!  On the black blanket that always falls upon my evening, I suddenly was experiencing a sparkling night.  My husband and I always say that it’s the little things in life that mean so much.

I wish everyone a happy and safe 4th of July – and never forget to appreciate all of the little things that come your way.

Stella De Genova

4 Responses to “A sparkling night”

  1. Mani Iyer July 2, 2011 at 9:48 PM #

    Stella, you are a lucky woman. I have drunk so much wine and never managed to see a star or planet that my wife pointed me to.
    May I ask, which specific wine were you drinking? 🙂

  2. Stella De Genova July 2, 2011 at 9:54 PM #

    I’m happy for you Stella. I know how big the little things are to you.

  3. becky July 25, 2011 at 8:16 PM #

    Beautiful. Indeed we learn to appreciate the little things with RP.

Leave a Reply

