Who Am I?

29 Jun

By Mani G. Iyer

(A Human Object)

From a void
I descend on this earth
aimless, unwilling,
an anonymous instance
of the species
of homo sapiens,
against my design. 
Carrying the baggage
of the human condition everywhere
I drift for miles
leaving a trail of
happiness, suffering and pain
on paths
directed, chosen or mistaken 
From one crossroad to another
I trudge till my legs give away
and I fade into dust
a photograph
a memory
a leaf of a family tree
into a void 
From void to void
who am I? 

Mani G. Iyer was born and raised in Bombay, India and has lived in the United States since 1985.  He is deaf-blind due to Usher Syndrome Type 2.  He became deaf by the age of 4, night-blind by the age of 12, and now has very little usable vision. He has written poetry since the age of 18.

Leave a Reply

