A letter

25 Jun

It is true that Vision Through Words posts poetry and essays, and when you look through all that have been posted so far, you’ll see a lot of very good work.  Although this is out of our ordinary, I received this letter from a reader and I found it rather informative and amusing so I’m going to share it with you:

Dear Editor,

I started listening to this book called “The Psychology of blindness on one of those new digital books that the Talking Book people send out.  I don’t know why they sent it to me, they do that sometimes.  I was also sent Bob Barker’s autobiography – you know, the Price is Right guy.  I don’t know why they sent that book either, but I’ll read it because I like that show and I think Drew Carey’s doing a good job.  (I just hope he’s lost some weight so when he’s up there on stage with those pretty models, he’ll look good next to them.)

At any rate, this Psychology of Blindness book reminds me of a school text book.  The first part is pretty interesting.  It talks about how blind people were treated way back when, in ancient civilizations.  It appears that the gentler cultures differed from the more brutal ones in that they killed blind people without torturing them first.

Oh, it gets better.  As cultures began to see that blind people could have some value, they made use of their talent for storytelling to entertain the kings and queens.  The book says that, in their new role, the blind were classed right up there among courtiers: contortionists, buffoons, eunuchs and the entertainingly insane.  Talk about a jump in social class.

A repeating theme in the book is that blind people have always had this talent for storytelling.  The book talks about Homer, the blind Italian poet and how he’d go  traveling around the Roman countryside in the company of his “boy.”  Apparently, the “boy” saw to Homer’s needs and, as such, qualifies as the original assistive device.  I’ve heard that term “assistive device” used in some centers for the blind, so that’s what this boy did for Homer.

It’s good to know that ancient civilizations stopped torturing and killing blind people, and discovered that they have a way with words.  It also makes sense to me that you and your blog carry on this great tradition of storytelling.  You could say we’ve found our niche.  Blind people have the gift of gab and I think we should all use it to its fullest capacity!

I’m still working on the Psychology of Blindness book and I’ll finish it, but right now, I’m gonna take a break from the heavy stuff and listen to a little of the Bob Barker book.  But I wanted to give you a heads up about that book about blind storytellers and poets so you could tell people to get busy writing stories and poems and send them to you.  If you decide to share this letter, I say, “Let’s get off our couches and sit down at the computer and start writing what’s on our minds.”  I know writing helps me clear my head.  So I guess I’ll get my Sppell Checker busy on this letter so I can send it off to you.

Thanks for your time.
Signed,
Anonymous
3 Responses to “A letter”

  1. Tina Loprado June 25, 2011 at 11:50 AM #

    Wow, sometimes it’s very hard to distinguish true feeling from sarcasm or anger about being blind oneself. I am very good at writing down my thoughts since I am educated and I can also write quite imaginatively as well. But I’m much more than a writer, I am a person of many facets, one of which happens to be that I became blind at 12 and moved on with my life and became an integrated person with society as it is, albeit mostly a sighted one. Nevertheless, I feel strongly about my persona not as a blind woman but as a whole woman. I hope most of us feel that same way. Yes there is a tremendous amount of ignorance in the world and yes alot of prejudice too. If we have stories we should write them. Not because we are blind but because we happen to be very good writers!!

    • Jeff Flodin June 28, 2011 at 6:37 PM #

      Dear Tina,

      We need to hear more from you. Please consider submitting a piece to this site. You have a great theme well expressed in your comment and I for one would love to hear more.

      Jeff Flodin

Leave a Reply

